ClubGonzo’s Get Down and Boogie Woogie

Mead, 12.5% ABV.

ClubGonzo’s Get Down and Boogie Woogie, mead batch 38.

This celebratory mead has been aged on whisky barrel oak chips, I guess I should have seen that one coming!

In the glass the Get Down etc. looks clear, and it has a dark golden colour.

The aroma is moderate, and the whisky oak chips have clearly done a thorough job: the peaty whisky is quite dominating at first, and I have to swirl the contents of my glass in order to bring forth the sweet honey notes. A complex, unusual and nice aroma!

In the mouth the peaty whisky contribution is less omnipresent, it blends more in with the very sweet honey profile. This mead is brewed with maple syrup, but I’m note sure if I manage to identify it (unless it mainly creates an additional layer of sweetness).

Conclusion: a nice touch with the peaty whisky notes, but maybe a bit too sweet. 

Aroma:      7/10
Appearance: 4/5
Taste:      6/10
Palate:     4/5
Overall:   13/20
Ratebeer score: 3.4/5.0

One comment on “ClubGonzo’s Get Down and Boogie Woogie

  1. I was quite happy with this one, tailor-made to my stepfather’s anniversary (according to preferances) and all. The maple touch has probably faded a bit over the years, as I have found maple syrup tends to do, but I still think this came out well. And it’s supposed to be sweet! 😉

Leave a comment