ClubGonzo’s Clean Cocos

Mead, 11.7% ABV.

ClubGonzo’s Clean Cocos, mead batch 31.

Kliiin kokos (kokos… kokos…)

Coconut is a Good Thing. I don’t think I’ve ever tasted a coconut beer that is not delicious, and the one mead with added coconut that I’ve tasted so far was the best mead I’ve ever had.

In the glass it’s clear and golden.

The aroma is strong, with a quite light and sharp-ish honey quality. The coconut is not very obvious, but detectable.

The coconut is more present in the flavour that in the aroma, and it plays well with the honey.

Despite being very sweet, it’s actually quite refreshing, due to an interesting light acidity in the finish. Is that the coconut speaking? Or has the brewer put in some citrus zest into this mead without saying so on the label?

Conclusion:  nope, I still haven’t had a coconut brew that I didn’t like. 

Aroma:      6/10
Appearance: 4/5
Taste:      7/10
Palate:     4/5
Overall:    12/20
Ratebeer score: 3.3/5.0
One comment on “ClubGonzo’s Clean Cocos

  1. Coconut is indeed a nice flavor component, and works fairly well in mead, although it is a bit subtle (so healthy dosaging applies). The mentioned acidity actually puzzles me as well, as there is nothing in the ingredients suggesting its presence. I think I might chalk it up to a larger-than-usual dose of yeast nutrient, as this batch was made at a time when I was experimenting a lot with different quantities of nutrients. At least, the end result was pretty decent. 😊

Leave a Reply

