ClubGonzo’s MIPA

Braggot, 6.6% ABV.

I don't think this one will sell that much.

I don’t think this one will sell that much.

It doesn't look like it on this picture, but the body is clear.

It doesn’t look like it on this picture, but the body is clear.

It had to happen sooner or later, I guess, ClubGonzo is going commercial! I’ve always thought that he would start a crazy little micro brewery one day, but of course, that would have been to simple and mainstream, instead he’s gone into the mead business. Mjøderiet has already started to brew, and in order to celebrate the occasion I open one of ClubGonzo’s meads. Or rather, a braggot, i.e. a mix of mead and beer. MIPA is 50/50 mix of IPA and mead.

Oh, it’s carbonated! Well, of course it is, it’s 50% beer in here, but I still was surprised for a couple of seconds when I saw the small white head upon the clear, golden body.

The aroma is quite faint, and I must admit that I find it hard to discern the IPA, and the mead part is also not that obvious. I do get some fruity hoppy notes, but I was hoping for something bolder.

The flavour is moderate, and it suffers from the same lack of focus as the aroma. It’s not a real beer, it’s not a real mead, it’s not even a mix – it seems like the two parts are nearly beating each other to death, with the modest IPA as a winner. It’s a bit confusing to be able to taste the hops quite clearly when there’s no accompanying bitterness. Oh, I finally picked up traces of honey in the finish.

Conclusion: a bit dull mix of beer and mead that doesn’t feel like neither. A hopped honey soft drink, perhaps?

Aroma:      5/10
Appearance: 3/5
Taste:      5/10
Palate:     3/3
Overall:    10/20
Ratebeer score: 2.6/5.0
2 comments on “ClubGonzo’s MIPA

  1. This was my first braggot, and worked for about a month or so, where you could actually taste the hops. But since I messed up the dilution and hops math on this one in the first place (added hopped wort to a mead 50/50 and not thinking about the IBU…doh!) it was never really hoppy anyway. Two years in the bottle has of course done nothing to remedy that situation, so I agree with your rating (perhaps I would have given it an even lower score).

    The only thing that sucks a bit is that you chose this weak specimen from my collection to mark the start of Mjøderiet. Hope you’ll have more luck with the next pick! 😛

  2. Pingback: ClubGonzo’s Roggenmead | Beer With Me

Leave a Reply

