Cunningham Jul 2013

Jul 2013 by Cunningham, Spice/Herb/Vegetable, ?% ABV, ? IBU.

A warm summer evening last summer I met Cunningham at Café Sara in Oslo. Since he’s one of the most generous men in this part of the galaxy, he didn’t show up empty handed: he brought me a Pliny the Elder, a hop plant and a mysterious, unlabelled bottle of homebrew. The hop plant ended up in my garden and the Pliny in my stomach a few days later, and I sort of forgot about the homebrew. Until now.

Cunningham Jul 2013 in the glass (which I got as a gift from Café Sara the very night Cunningham gave me the beer at this café)

Cunningham Jul 2013 in the glass (which I got as a gift from the bartender at the very same bar, the very same night, as Cunningham gave me his bottle of beer.)

It pours an ever so slightly hazy, good-looking, medium amber body with a small white head that soon reduces to a fully covering film. Ok lacing.

The aroma isn’t very strong, but it’s pleasant: I get notes of sweet pine needles, herbs (sweet mint and peppermint, I think), mint candy, caramel and pale malts. This is something special!

Very strong foresty flavour of pine needles, bitter herbs like bog-myrtle, lingon berries, caramel, a touch of citrus and some sweet fruits. I’ve had several Danish commercial brews with bog-myrtle, but they have all been too simple and one-dimensional, and nothing like this complex little beauty. The taste is moderate sweet and moderate+ bitter. The brewer claims that he didn’t use much hops in the boil, so maybe some of the perceived bitterness is due to the bog-myrtle?

The mouthfeel is extraordinarily pleasant. It’s a softly carbonated and full-bodied beer with an amazing, silky smooth texture.

Conclusion: an unusual, inventive, complex, drinkable, tasty and highly successful brew!

Aroma:      6/10
Appearance: 4/5
Taste:      8/10
Palate:     5/5
Overall:    15/20
Ratebeer score: 3.8/5.0

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

