ClubGonzo Mr. Nilsson

Mr. Nilsson (a.k.a. Har Ni Sett Min APA?) by ClubGonzo, American Pale Ale, 5.6% ABV, 43.1 IBU.

I should have seen it coming: a ClubGonzo beer brewed for the pun!

ClubGonzo's Mr. Nelsson (a.k.a. Har Ni Sett Min APA), Batch no. 44. The master of puns strikes again!

ClubGonzo’s Mr. Nelsson (a.k.a. Har Ni Sett Min APA), Batch no. 44. The master of puns strikes again! 43.1 IBU: the master of significant figures also strikes again!

Mr. Nilsson looks pretty cloudy in the glass, it has a nice medium to light amber colour and is topped by a small, white, rather creamy, fully lasting head that decorates my glass with foam.

I thought the cloudy body was caused by an excessive use of hops, but that before I smelled this modest little thing.

I thought the cloudy body was caused by an excessive use of hops, but that before I smelled this modest little thing.

The aroma isn’t strong at all, but it’s pleasant. I get the regular tropical fruits/citrus combo with hints of malts in the background. However, the lack of intensity makes the impression a bit dull and uninteresting. Did you forget to dry hop this one?

The flavour is stronger than I’d dared to hope for, and once the beer is in the mouth I realise that I’ve missed the optimal temperature with a few degrees: this is too damn cold! Maybe that’s one explanation for the faint-ish aroma. The taste is moderate bitter, but it’s not a very pleasant bitterness. It gives me a put-tongue-on-9V-cell-battery feeling in the late aftertaste. There is not much sweetness. The flavour is nice though, again tropical fruits and citrus. Simple enough, but I guess that’s how an APA should be.

The mouthfeel is decent, but nothing spectacular. Again pretty close to most APAs, i.e. dry, fairly light-bodied and with a moderate carbonation.

Conclusion: a decent brew, but I must admit that I find it a bit boring. The aroma should have been much more intense: if you haven’t got the balls to use enough bittering hops to make an IPA, you should at least throw in a bucket of aroma hops and save a truckload for the dry hopping. And finally there’s this strange bitterness. 

Aroma:      6/10
Appearance: 4/5
Taste:      6/10
Palate:     3/5
Overall:    10/20
Ratebeer score: 2.9/5.0
One comment on “ClubGonzo Mr. Nilsson

  1. I think the main issue here is that the beer was simply too old when you’ve tasted it (I’m guessing recently). It was brewed in late August and that’s a long time ago for a dry-hopped, fresh-and-fruity APA. Otherwise, I agree: this is not a spectacular beer and was primarily meant as a to-go thirst quencher than anything out of the ordinary. For the record, I got a lot of really good feedback on it during the first two months of its lifetime. 🙂

Leave a Reply

