ClubGonzo’s Stappan Stout

Stappan Stout by ClubGonzo, Dry Stout, 4.2% ABV, 45.6 IBU.

The previous ClubGonzo stout I had wasn’t very convincing, but I’m still ready for a new one!

ClubGonzo's Stappan Stout, batch 26.

ClubGonzo’s Stappan Stout, batch 26.

In the glass it looks clear and black. I have to struggle to form a finger-thick, frothy, short-lived, medium brown head that doesn’t leave much traces on the glass.

Stappan in the glass.

Stappan in the glass.

The aroma is moderate with dark roasted malty notes, dry bitter coffee and ash. Simple, but efficient, true to the style and inviting.

Pretty strong flavour that is very dark roasted, again dry ashy, coal and coffee. After a few sips I think I might detect some vague dark berry notes trying to get past the roasted malts. The taste is light sweet and the finish is of decent length and is moderate bitter. Yes!

The carbonation is soft, the texture is dry and the body is pretty light. Again pretty much how a dry stout should be. I’m not a big fan of this kind of thin mouthfeel, but it works.

Conclusion: A lovely dry stout, why don’t they sell this at Rimi instead of Guinness?

Aroma:      7/10
Appearance: 3/5
Taste:      7/10
Palate:     3/5
Overall:    14/20
Ratebeer score: 3.4/5.0
One comment on “ClubGonzo’s Stappan Stout

  1. Impressive! I never thought you’d be such a fan of the traditional dry stout. 🙂 Moreover, I am delighted to find that I seem to have accomplished my goal with this beer: to create a style-true, yet more flavorful dry stout than Guinness (though the nitro mouthfeel is hard to replicate as a homebrewer.. :-P). Personally, I’m not a huge fan of the genre but this was brewed as a homage beer to the island(s) were I grew up and was tailored to meet the tastes of my stepfather, who still lives at Magerøya (I grew up in Gjesvær, where the Stappan bird colony mountains are). Cool to see that you still surprise me with your ratings Terje! 🙂

Leave a Reply

