ClubGonzo’s Demonstrational (Coffee) Stout

Demonstrational (Coffee) Stout by ClubGonzo, Stout, 5.8% ABV, 47 IBU.

I love coffee stouts and I love… eh… demonstrations, so let’s see what ClubGonzo’s got for me this time.

Served in a standard pub glass. I’m crazy.

The beer pours a black body with a decent-sized, medium brown, frothy head that collapses very fast. Not much foam is left on my glass. It looks a bit dull.

ClubGonzo’s Demonstrational (Coffee) Stout, batch no 31, contract brew no 6

Moderate aroma of dry, cold filter coffee and green coffee beans. By the way, I’ve never smelled green coffee beans. Or seen one in real life. But I imagine that they would smell a bit like this, a vegetal, plant-like touch. In addition there are of course roasted notes.

The green vegetal notes are very present in the flavour as well, it’s much stronger than the roasted coffee notes. This is actually a bit strange, I wonder if it’s supposed to be like this? It’s a bit unpleasant, highly unusual and not exactly tasty.

The mouthfeel, however, is very pleasant, the beer has a good body with a slick texture and a moderate carbonation.

Conclusion: not a very convincing demonstration. It doesn’t taste much of coffee, and the vegetal off-flavours are pretty disturbing. Still, if I don’t breathe through my nose it’s enjoyable, due to the lovely mouthfeel.

Aroma:      5/10
Appearance: 3/5
Taste:      5/10
Palate:     4/5
Overall:    9/20
Ratebeer score: 2.6/5.0
One comment on “ClubGonzo’s Demonstrational (Coffee) Stout

  1. I see your point here. Although I haven’t tasted this in quite some time, I definitely remember the coffee part fading into something undefinable as the beer aged. Maybe the vegetal notes you get is simply…old coffee? Mixed with hops? 😛 Hard to tell. Nevertheless; this was good enough at the demonstrational hour, and that was good enough for me. 🙂

    P.S: I’m still experimenting with how to add coffee in beer in a way that can actually stand the test of time..maybe it has to do with the type of coffee? I’ve mostly used regular filter coffee (dark varieties) so far.

Leave a Reply

