ClubGonzo & Bjarte + Charlotte’s Psycho Saison

Psycho Saison by ClubGonzo & Bjarte + Charlotte, Saison, Spice/Herb/Vegetable , 6.6% ABV, 28.2 IBU.

The summer of 2012 I started homebrewing (and I kind of stopped then as well, but I’ll start up again soon, I promise). Back then I really wanted to put rhubarb from my garden into a brew, and I assumed that a saison would be the most fitting style. However, all I had in my fermentors at that time where IPAs, so I made the Rabarbrapapa, an IPA with rhubarb and honey. IMHO it was a successful brew, and it made me certain that rhubarb is a good ting to add a beer. And then comes ClubGonzo with friends, and they’ve actually made the beer I wanted to brew: a saison with rhubarb (and sea buckthorn, just to be extra fancy). Cool!

ClubGonzo & Bjarte + Charlotte's Psycho Saison, Contract brew no. 3 - Solo batch no. 21.

ClubGonzo & Bjarte + Charlotte’s Psycho Saison, Contract brew no. 3 – Solo batch no. 21.

It pours an opaque, orange to whitish body with an average white head that reduces quickly in size. It ends up as a fully covering film, with some lacing left on the glass.

The flavours are strong, with obvious tart and acidic notes from the rhubarb. Also quite fruity, but I have no idea what sea buckthorn tastes like, so I don’t know if any of the fruity notes in this beer are caused by these berries. I also get lemon,  hints of alcohol and traces of honey. The finish is dry. Some sweetness initially, but the acidity soon takes over. It’s hard to say if there is any bitterness blended into the mix, or if the bite on my tongue is all due to the acid. This one might be a bit too acidic for my taste, but while I drink it grows on me. All in all a very, very, very crisp, tart and acidic feel.

The mouthfeel is a bit dull, at least when the beer warms up. It seems like the carbonation is very short-lived when the beer enters my mouth. Strange.  Still, when the beer is fridge cold is feels quite ok.

Overall: a fun experiment and a tasty brew, but the acidity decreases the drinkability slightly. Maybe a bit too generous with the rhubarb? 

Aroma:      6/10
Appearance: 3/5
Taste:      6/10
Palate:     3/5
Overall:    12/20
Ratebeer score: 3.0/5.0
One comment on “ClubGonzo & Bjarte + Charlotte’s Psycho Saison

  1. I think the rhubarb and sea buckthorn don’t come out as much as I’d expected in this one. It’s a nice enough saison (I’d perhaps give it a couple a more points, but not more) but that’s about it. On the other hand, the acidity you describe is probably the bitter-acidic profile of the sea buckthorn (Tindved) and not the more fruity acidity from the rhubarb, but I could be wrong. I suggest you hunt down one or more of the Tindved beers from NØ/Haand to make a comparison (particularly the NØ version packs a bit of Tindved punch, I think) or maybe seek out a restaurant who has it on the menu – most chefs would be delighted to give you a sample. 🙂

Leave a Reply

