ClubGonzo’s Solskrog

Solskrog aka. Contract Batch #2 aka. Solo Batch #17. ClubGonzo is a complicated brewery.

Solskrog aka. Contract Batch #2 aka. Solo Batch #17. ClubGonzo is a complicated brewery.

Solskrog by ClubGonzo, American Amber Ale, 5.5% ABV, 40 IBU.

Well well well, a beer brewed for my wife’s third cousin, this is a small world, isn’t it?

As always when I rate a beer I initially pour no more than some 15-20 cl into my glass to ensure a decent headspace which makes it easier to swirl the beer without spilling and to characterise the aroma. This initial pour is clear with a copper colour, but when I’m done with the smelling I see that a 3 cm layer of dirty foam has built up in the bottle. This little fellow is certainly highly carbonated! When I pour the rest of the bottle into my glass, I therefore end up with a murky body with lots of sediments of all sizes. This doesn’t look good at all! The head is better: it’s large, creamy, quite dense, very light brown, laces the glass well and settles as a long-lived layer.

Let's concentrate on the good-looking head and forget about the murky body.

Let’s concentrate on the good-looking head and forget about the murky body.

The aroma is moderate and rather pleasant, but also quite simple. I get caramel and fruits with some unclean yeasty notes lurking in the back, and not much more than that.

The taste is light sweet and light bitter initially and it ends with a moderate bitter finish of a decent length. The flavours give me a bit more than the aromas, here I find fruits, grapefruit and resin, the dirty yeast is still back there, and of course I find traces of solvent-like alcohol, although I have to admit that the latter are very faint.

Standard and ok mouthfeel, light to medium body, dry texture and lively carbonation.

Conclusion: too faint and boring aromas and flavours, and the over-carbonation causes too much yeasty notes.

Aroma:      6/10
Appearance: 2/5
Taste:      5/10
Palate:     3/5
Overall:    11/20
Ratebeer score: 2.7/5.0
One comment on “ClubGonzo’s Solskrog

  1. I see what you mean here, but I have a few remarks:
    1.) Looks. If you see a beer having a lot of head retention (this becomes evident rather early), try to pour really, really slow and rate the looks based on that. Of course it will be messy once you re-pour the bottle afterwards.
    2.) This beer has declined a lot since it was fresh (had one bottle a few weeks ago, and the difference was bigger than I thought). Dry hopping fades fast, and this one was dry hopped – a LOT. 😛
    Having said that, this is not a piece of art but I thought it was rather drinkable (and so did everyone else that had it) when first brewed. Conclusion: send more frequent packages to Beer With Me! 🙂

Leave a Reply

