JoKr Brewers Wheat As I Am

Wheat As I Am by JoKr Brewers, Wheat Ale, 5.8 % ABV, 29 IBU.

Ever since I got a bottle of Wheat As I Am in my beer cellar, a certain song has been churning in my head, refusing to let go. I figured the best way to make room for more useful stuff in my small brain was to get rid of the bottle as soon as possible, so here we go!

In this tainted soul, In this weak young heart, Am I too much for you?

“In this tainted soul,
In this weak young heart,
Am I too much for you?”

JoKr Brewers Wheat As I Am, batch 18. Looks good here, but the head collapses quickly.

JoKr Brewers Wheat As I Am, batch 18. Looks good here, but the head collapses quickly.

The body is cloudy, medium orange, and the head is large, frothy, egg white, fairly short-lived and leaves some lacing on the glass. Not an impressive sight, but doesn’t look bad either.

The aroma is pleasant, although not that strong. I get some nice spicy notes, yeast and there is a good deal of fruits present, e.g. hints of banana.

When it comes to the flavours this brew starts to collapse… Although the taste is ok, with a moderate to light sweetness and a quite short, light bitter finish, the flavours are both faint and not that pleasant. It’s quite unusual for a JoKr beer not to taste much, but this one doesn’t really taste much at all, apart from some totally out of style, stinging, very unpleasant, solvent-like notes of alcohol. Hm, haven’t I written about this before? In the back there are traces of spice, fruits and yeast, but these hints die out very quickly, leaving the aftertaste totally dominated by the harsh alcohol.

I think there is quite some residual sweetness in this one, both due to the rather sweet taste and the medium body. That’s about the only positive thing I can say about the mouthfeel: because of the alcohol this beer is pretty close to undrinkable.

Conclusion: nice aroma and ok taste, but the flavours and mouthfeel are ruined by the added nail polish remover. I couldn’t finish the 0.25 cl bottle.

Aroma:      6/10
Appearance: 3/5
Taste:      4/10
Palate:     2/5
Overall:    7/20
Ratebeer score: 2.2/5.0
One comment on “JoKr Brewers Wheat As I Am

  1. Once again we agree on the quality but disagree on the factors involved. 🙂 To me, the alcohol has not been noticeable to any significant degree whenever I’ve had this beer. Since you mention “nail polish remover”, which I associate with aceton-like substances, I’m actually thinking you could be the unlucky winner of an infected bottle (aceterobacter would be the main perpetrator here) but I’m not really sure, considering our history with “alco-disagreements”… 😛 The sweetness you describe corresponds well though; I agree that this is a rather mediocre experiment taste-wise, but that comes from the slightly cloying sweetness rather than the other things you highlight. In any case, we brewed this beer to see if it was possible to brew a 100 % wheat ale. Turns out it was, even though it is far from our greatest achievement. 😛

Leave a Reply

