ClubGonzo’s Spontaneous Torstein

Spontaneous Torstein by ClubGonzo, Cider, 4.7% ABV.

Ouch. The fermentation isn’t the only thing that’s spontaneous about this this cider, it even comes out of the bottle spontaneously, no need to pour!  The lively carbonation and the absurd amounts of sediments lead to an absolutely disgusting looking brew once in the glass. It’s a turbulent and muddy cauldron with huge bits and pieces that takes forever to partially settle at the bottom of my glass, and I feel the urge to filter the murky liquid between my teeth while drinking. The colour of this monstrosity is medium orange (when not taking the brown apple bits into account).

Spontaneous Torstein w/ 1 cm of apple sediments

Spontaneous Torstein w/ 1 cm of apple sediments

When smelling the brew I believe I can detect some light funky notes in the back, but they are not dominant. Even so they make this one smell a bit more like a traditional cider than the two previous ones from ClubGonzo that I’ve rated. The aroma is strong and rather sweet with an acidic touch, with lots of apples. I get a mix of ripe apples and slightly overripe bordering on fermented apples. Again, comparing to commercial available ciders, the ripe apples are more obvious here, the more common notes of overripe and fermented apples are subtle.

The taste is moderate acidic and the the texture is very dry indeed. No way this is a semi-dry cider, as the label claims, this is Sahara-style bone dry. I guess the heavy dryness and the over-carbonation tells me that ClubGonzo didn’t successfully manage to stop the fermentation, and once again I’m drinking a cider that feels like it’s got no residual sweetness. After a glass of this stuff my sensitive tummy aches. However, the flavour is lovely. I get incredibly clean and crisp apple flavours, again with hints of over-ripe and lightly fermented components. I don’t get much wild barnyard-ish notes.

Conclusion: once again a far too acidic and dry cider, but with a lovely aroma and flavour.

Aroma:      7/10
Appearance: 1/5
Taste:      7/10
Palate:     3/5
Overall:   11/20
Ratebeer score: 2.9/5.0
Shopped? Whaddya mean?

Shopped? Whaddya mean?

 
One comment on “ClubGonzo’s Spontaneous Torstein

  1. Hahaha; love your photoshopping! 😀 Haven’t tried this in a while (this was a rather limited batch, so few bottles remain) but FYI Spontanous Torstein was never pasteurized, so I guess it has fermented from “semi-dry” to “bone dry” in the bottle…on the other hand, I say its fair to assume it should be gushing like hell and not just insisting on making its own way out of the bottle. Nevertheless, glad to once again have irritated your bowels Terje. I do get some enjoyment out of that. 😉

Leave a Reply

