ClubGonzo’s Øystese Discovery

Øystese Discovery by ClubGonzo, Cider, 5.5% ABV.

First of all I’ll have to admit that my experience with ciders is very limited, but I like this style, and that’s all it takes for me to do a rating, right?

The very first home made cider that I’m now about to try pours a slightly hazy yellow-ish golden body. As expected for a cider the head is fizzy and very short-lived.

Øystese Discovery

ClubGonzo’s Øystese Discovery aka. Cider Batch 01.

The aroma is quite strong and both sweet and acidic. I get notes of both acidic and sweet ripe apples, also apple juice. There are no overripe notes and absolutely no fermented elements, as I often find is the case with ciders. There are no funky stuff, no wild fermented scents, this smells like a gentle cider for beginners!

The taste however reveals that this is definitely not something you should serve a person who thinks that ciders are the sugary sweet soft drinks that Kopparberg & Co produce. A very acidic taste hits my tastebuds as soon as the first drop enters my mouth, and the acidity lasts into the finish. Initially I thought that I got flavours of tart, very acidic and unripe apples, but the following sips made me understand that I was simply fooled by the heavy acidity. The flavours actually consist of gentle and  ripe apple notes (again without any overripe, fermented or barnyard notes). In a way the taste and the flavours are out of sync, they would have fitted better if the acidity was much lighter.

The mouthfeel is of course very crisp, the texture is dry, and combined with the acidity the finish feels very dry indeed.

Conclusion: too acidic, but apart from that it’s actually a quite nice cider.

Aroma:      6/10
Appearance: 3/5
Taste:      5/10
Palate:     3/5
Overall:   10/20
Ratebeer score: 2.7/5.0
3 comments on “ClubGonzo’s Øystese Discovery

  1. Agreed. The problem with ciders is that they ferment “all the way” if you don’t pasteurize the bottles to leave some residual sweetness. I like some sweetness in my ciders, so I’ve done this with some of my other batches (I think you have some of those as well). 🙂

  2. Pingback: ClubGonzo’s Raspberry Discovery | Beer With Me

  3. Pingback: ClubGonzo’s Raspberry Discovery | Beer With Me

Leave a Reply

