JoKr Brewers The Day After

The Day After by JoKr Brewers, Barley Wine, 11.8% ABV, 67 IBU.

I’ve rated no more than two barley wines on ratebeer.com, one of them being the barley wine/DIPA hybrid Nøgne Ø #100, so here I’m really on thin ice… But as always I judge a beer according to how much it pleases me at the moment, not if it’s true to a predefined beer style or not.

The Day After

The Day After aka. Test Batch 07. Looks good, right?

JoKr Brewers The Day After

JoKr Brewers The Day After

The Day After pours a clear and very dark brownish red body with a small, beige head that reduces quite quickly to a thin layer. This layer is fully lasting, and manages to lace my glass somewhat.

The aroma is strong, sweet and powerful, this is a serious brew that isn’t for the faint hearted! It has a complex fruity profile with both dried dark fruits and fruits that are fresh, yet overripe. There are also some delicious and well integrated vinous notes, and finally I get a light spicy touch.

The Day After back label, with some serious warnings. I always do what I'm told, so I let the bottle stay in my beer cellar until May 2013.

The Day After back label, with some serious warnings. I always do what I’m told, so I let the bottle stay in my beer cellar until May 2013.

The taste is moderate sweet and the finish is moderate bitter, long-lasting and very warming. The flavours are of moderate strength, I would have liked them to be stronger, and they are mainly on the malty side. The alcohol is in the front, but in a very pleasant, clean and vinous way that enhances the other flavours. Fruits, sweet caramel, a Jägermeister-like herbal spiciness and in the back some traces of liqueur filled chocolate. The bitterness and the alcohol fight for my attention in the finish, and I’m actually not sure which one these that is the main contributor to the warming, almost burning sensation in my mouth. I assume it’s the alcohol, but it may also be that the beer is more bitter than I initially thought.

The beer is very softly carbonated, but there is a faint fizz of micro bubbles that prickle my tongue as I drink, very elegant and pleasant. The body is full and the texture is oily.

Conclusion: A massive brew, thanks to the pronounced sweetness, bitterness and warming alcohol. Somewhat stronger flavours would be appreciated, I mean, other flavours than pure alcohol.

Aroma:      7/10
Appearance: 4/5
Taste:      7/10
Palate:     4/5
Overall:   13/20
Ratebeer score: 3.5/5.0
Leave a Reply

