ClubGonzo's Turkish Pepper Stout

Turkish Pepper Stout by ClubGonzo, Stout, 5.2% ABV, 45 IBU.

Adding candy to a beer may sound like a good idea, but then I guess you should really know what you’re doing. I’m not saying that ClubGonzo doesn’t know his brewing ABC, but I suspect there there where one or two things he didn’t fully take into account when adding lots of sugary Tyrkisk Pepper to a beer that still contained living and hungry yeast? Anyway, I open the bottle and out gushes a black and incredibly viscous liquid. Even on my white kitchen table a thin layer of beer looks close to black and completely opaque. It’s muddy with particles of all sizes, some too big to be called particles, they are rather large bits of what I assume is liquorice root, which is another additive to this crazy brew. Some of the beer ends up in my glass, and after a while the enormous, frothy, dark brown head completely disappears, without leaving any lacing on the glass.

ClubGonzos Turkish Pepper Stout, batch 6. Some of it even ended up in my glass.

The aroma is strong and stings my nose like salt of hartshorn! After the initial shock I get a thick sweetness, roasted notes, loads of liquorice, Tyrkisk Pepper candy and black pepper. This really is different!

The taste is moderate to heavy sweet with a moderate bitter and long-lasting finish. The flavours are dominated by massive amounts of Tyrkisk Pepper, and this sweet and sugary candy profile just doesn’t feel very natural. Screw the purity law and all that, but this is very close to where I draw the line! It tastes like lots of sugary liquorice has been added to an ashy, heavily roasted stout, which I guess is pretty close to the truth. Still, it sort of works. And this is what home brewing is about, right? To make ridiculous beers that never will be realised commercially?

The beer is of course as full bodied as a liquid possibly can be, and the texture is syrupy, sugary liquid candy. The final carbonation of the beer that ends up in my glass is moderate.

Conclusion: an absolutely unique beer, with a crazy aroma, flavour and mouthfeel. Keep up your insane brewing, ClubGonzo, this is so much fun! This one gets lots of extra points for the entertainment value!

Aroma:      6
Appearance: 2
Taste:      5
Palate:     3
Overall:   10
Ratebeer score: 2.6


One comment on “ClubGonzo's Turkish Pepper Stout

  1. Hehehe…yes, this was really one of my first truly crazy experiments, brewed when I was still just a brewing n00b and just wanted to play around. 🙂 In the beginning it was quite horrible, so I stowed it away and forgot about it for like a year or so. Now, it’s possible to drink it but it’s still not a very good beer. Just crazy. And sometimes that’s fun, too. 😀 Some brewing facts:
    I added 1 pack (150 gr) TP to the boil at around 20 minutes; the base of the beer is actually extract with steeped roasted barley and black malts, which together account for the ashy, roasty feel in the back of the beer. If there was any such thing as “licorice malt”, I would of course have added it as well. 😛
    Fun, but not anything to be repeated. Ever. 😉

Leave a Reply

