ClubGonzo's Meh-rry Xmas

Meh-rry Xmas by ClubGonzo, Spice/Herb/Vegetable, 4.3% ABV, 27 IBU.

The past month I’ve been busy tasting commercial christmas beers, so I haven’t had time to rate any home brews. However, after a month of nothing but christmas beers I’m more prepared than ever to taste ClubGonzo’s takes on this style, or rather, styles.

ClubGonzo isn’t exactly overselling this beer, with the sad looking guy on the label and a name that reveals that this isn’t the favourite beer of the brewer. In the glass however, the Meh-rry Xmas looks very nice! It has an opaque black body with an average-sized, light-brown head that is quite long-lived and laces the glass well. As I empty the glass there is still a thin layer of foam left.

The aroma is a bit, well, meh. It’s not that strong and it’s pretty dominated by some dull notes of bakers yeast, it reminds me a bit of my Dad’s non-alcoholic Tomtebrygg™ before it has finished fermenting. The aroma is slightly burnt with some coffee notes, but that’s about it. Not unpleasant, but not exactly inviting either.

The taste is light sweet with a light to moderate bitter finish. In addition to the yeast, roasted notes and coffee, I get some spicy hints, I think it’s nutmeg and clove. No off-tastes, but rather boring stuff.

ClubGonzos Meh-rry Xmas aka batch no 12. Too boring to enjoy, this one I hurled down so fast that I didnt get a shot of the beer in the glass.

The carbonation is far too soft for such a light bodied beer, it’s a bit like drinking cold coffee. But it’s drinkable, I downed the bottle so fast that I forgot to take a picture of the newly poured glass. The texture is quite watery, and there is a light dryness in the aftertaste.

Conclusion: Meh.

Aroma:      5
Appearance: 4
Taste:      6
Palate:     2
Overall:   10
Ratebeer score: 2.7


Leave a Reply

