JoKr Brewers Dandy Lion

Dandy Lion with its huge head.

Dandy Lion by JoKr Brewers, Saision / Spice/Herb/Vegetable, 7.8% ABV, 32 IBU.

The Dandy Lion pours a beautiful, medium orange, nearly opaque body with no visible particles. The head is huge, creamy, off-white and very long-lived. It eventually ends up as foamy islands resting on a thin layer of foam, and my glass is draped with lacing. Nice!

Dandy Lion by JoKr Brewers. Batch no. 12.

The aroma is strong and absolutely lovely! It’s quite belgian-like, I’m immediately thinking Duvel and triples. Delicious yeasty notes, sweet light fruits like banana, but also slightly overripe fruity notes and even some fermented apples. Also flowers, herbs and spices with sweet honey in the back.

Now, the taste… Oh my. My wife thought I was sick or something when she heard my reaction when I took the first sip! This is absolutely awful! My palate is violently attacked by the most massive wall of alcohol I’ve ever encountered in any beer, this is like drinking pure vodka! What on earth has happened here? 7.8% ABV? Are you sure it’s not 78% ABV? Initially it is difficult to say anything about the taste and flavours, everything is completely drowned in alcohol. After a few sips however I think I can detect quite much sweetness in here, also some light acidity and a very light bitterness in the finish. It is also possible to find other flavours than alcohol: the first 0.5 seconds are actually quite nice, with very pleasant yeast, sweet fruits and honey. But then the alcohol kicks in and actually makes it difficult to swallow the beer. In the aftertaste, after the alcohol has faded out, I get some slightly rotten floral notes, and far far far in the aftertaste the dandelions start to show up: I can actually taste the white dandelion sap bitterness! That’s cool!

It doesn’t help that the body is medium, the moderate to soft carbonation is fitting and the texture is pleasant creamy to oily when everything is completely spoiled by the harsh alcohol finish. This is the definition of an unpleasant mouthfeel. I actually couldn’t finish the tiny 25 cl bottle.

Conclusion: An utter confusing beer. Wonderful aroma, some nice flavours but with a mouthfeel straight from the darkest pits of Hell. I guess I should have kept this in my beer cellar for a few more months?

Aroma:      8
Appearance: 4
Taste:      4
Palate:     1
Overall:    7
Ratebeer Score: 2.4


One comment on “JoKr Brewers Dandy Lion

  1. Hahaha! 😀

    Maybe I should have warned you about this one but I wanted you to have an unbiased reaction as I’ve seen you diverge from my own views to a considerable length earlier. In other words, I thought there might be a theoretical chance of you actually liking this, but I am kind of delighted that you didn’t. This is by far our worst beer IMO, and although I’ve actually come across people who liked it (!) I think it is quite horrible. In fact, I think I would have given it an even lower taste score. The thing that bothers me is not actually the alcohol-sting (which I understand you’re quite sensitive about, and which is admittedly too harsh in this beer), but rather the sugar-rum-cider-like residual sweetness which is additionally boosted by the Dandelion, it seems. This comes from the fact that we brewed with a substantial amount of refined (white) sugar as I read somewhere that this is an important element to get a dry finish and high alcohol content as appropriate to the style. Fail. Maybe this is the case with Belgian candy sugar, but with more than 600 grams of sugar on 20 liters we ended up nearly getting a “sugar beer”, which I found very unpleasant. The reason I am able to identify the flavors of fermented white sugar is that I’ve actually tried to brew an extract batch with mostly dark syrup…an experiment which didn’t even make it to bottling… 😛

    So once again we pretty much agree on the score, though for slightly different reasons. 🙂

Leave a Reply

