ClubGonzo's BBB (Basic Biomedical Beer)

BBB (Basic Biomedical Beer) by ClubGonzo, American Pale Ale, 5.4 % ABV, 40 IBU.

BBB (Basic Biomedical Beer) by ClubGonzo is one aggressively carbonated fellow.

Ouch, a gusher! The beer doesn’t come out of the bottle that quickly though, so I actually mange to fit almost the entire contents in my glass, including a huge, frothy, very light brown head. This foamy lid stopped the aromas quite effectively, so I had to spoon out parts of it to get an impression of the scents. The good thing about the head is that it’s long-lived, but for some reason it hardly leaves any lacing. The body is medium amber and cloudy with lots of yeasty sediments.

BBB (Basic Biomedical Beer) a.k.a. Solo Batch no. 5.

Exciting aroma of moderate strength that is dominated by pleasant fruits and berry-like notes: I get citrus, peach and raspberry candy (bringebærdrops!).

The taste is light sweet with a quite sharp bitter finish. It’s that kind of bitterness that is not actually that bitter, but it still feels quite stinging, both due to the faint perfume-like flavours that lurk in the back and also the quite lively carbonation. The texture is rather dry and the finish is somewhat chalky. The flavours are fruits and berries (again with the fun raspberry candy), yeast and these hints of sharp perfume. Refreshing-ish, but with some flaws.

Conclusion: I’ve never had a gushing beer that I’ve fully enjoyed, they all get too yeasty, and this is also the case for the BBB. That’s a shame, because apart from the yeast both the aroma and flavour are quite nice, so I guess this was a really good one in its glory days. But I’ve got to rate the bottle I’ve got, and that was not better than “quite OK”.

Aroma:      7
Appearance: 2
Taste:      6
Palate:     3
Overall:   12
Ratebeer Score: 3.0


One comment on “ClubGonzo's BBB (Basic Biomedical Beer)

  1. Once again I totally agree with your comments. This was a fair enough beer but I’ve done better. Many of the bottles turned out to be gushers and I think I overdid the dry-hopping a bit, which caused (in my book) a slightly too grassy aroma profile in the end. But at least, that didn’t seem to bother you! 😀

Leave a Reply

